Nominations Now Open for 2017 Texas Golf Hall of Fame, New Board Members Elected

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                 March 1, 2017

San Antonio, TX.                                                                                  

Contact:         Jerry D. Smith, Board Chair – 972.998.6770

                      Mary Carriker, Managing Director - 210.736.8701

The Texas Golf Hall of Fame Board of Directors is pleased to announce that nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Class of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame. All Texans and golf lovers are urged to nominate qualified individuals through and pursuant to the guidelines established on the Hall’s website at

The nomination period is open from March 1 to April 28, 2017. The nominees will then be reviewed for eligibility and voted on by the living Hall members, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame Board of Directors and select Texas golf media. The final selection will be announced in early July. Nominations are accepted only though the website.

Individuals or Texas courses can be nominated in one of five categories – Amateur Player, Professional Player, Golf Professional/Teacher, Lifetime Achievement and the Texas Registry of Historic Golf Courses.

On October 9, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame will induct its eighth class of inductees since reconstituting the Hall in 2009.  The Induction Dinner will take place at the historic San Antonio Country Club.  The 2017 Class of inductees will be commemorated on a new granite marker along the Texas Golf Walk of Fame at Brackenridge Park Golf Course.

Four At-Large positions were available on the Texas Golf Hall of Fame Board of Directors for 2017 and beyond. The Nomination Committee received approximately 20 names for consideration. In January, the Board voted unanimously and elected the following new At-Large Board Members: Marty Leonard of Fort Worth and 2011 Texas Golf Hall of Fame inductee; Robin Burke of Houston and 2016 Texas Golf Hall of Fame inductee; David Price of Dallas and 2012 Texas Golf Hall of Fame inductee and Stuart Bernstein of Austin.  Jeff Strong, the Honorary President of the STPGA was elected as one of two permanent positions on the Board from the Southern Texas PGA Section.   

           The Texas Golf Hall of Fame, the largest state golf Hall of Fame in the country, is located at the Brackenridge Park Golf Course clubhouse and the historic building adjacent to the clubhouse, the Borglum Studio.  The Board is comprised of fifteen state-wide directors, of which eight are Permanent and seven are At-Large. The TGHOF is a 501(c) (3) organization. More information is available at

2016 TGHoF Inductees just announced!

Five-Time TOUR Winner, Architect, Curtis Cup Captain Highlight 2016 TGHoF Inductees


San Antonio, TX.                                

Contact:     Jerry D. Smith, Board Chair – 972.998.6770
         Mary Carriker, Managing Director - 210.736.8701

SAN ANTONIO – The current captain of the women’s U.S. Curtis Cup team, Robin Burke, one of Texas’ greatest architects, Joe Finger, and five-time PGA Tour winner Blaine McCallister, highlight the Texas Golf Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Inductees.

     Renowned Texas Teacher Lindy Miller is to be honored in the Texas Golf Professional / Teacher Category while Memorial Park Golf Course in Houston will be added to the Texas Registry of Historic Golf Courses, according to the TGHoF Board who conducted the statewide nomination process and voting for Texas’ highest golf honor.
The inductees will be honored at the 2016 “The Gathering of Eagles” golf tournament and induction dinner to be held on Monday, October 10th at Brackenridge Park Golf Course and San Antonio Country Club, respectively. Sponsorships are now available with more information available on the website
The Texas Golf Hall of Fame is located at the Brackenridge Park Golf Course, clubhouse, the adjacent Walk of Fame and a historic building adjacent to the clubhouse, the Borglum Studio.  

    “We are certainly pleased to have such great Lone Star Legends to enter the Texas Golf Hall of Fame for our class of 2016,” said TGHoF Board Chairman Jerry Smith. “It will be a great time to honor the best of the best in Texas golf for this year.”
Miller was a four-time All-American at Oklahoma State University and served for 22 years as the Director of Golf at Mira Vista Country Club in Ft. Worth. Since 2009 he has been the teaching Professional at Shady Oaks Country Club. “I was so excited, it was a real honor to be selected,” Miller said. “To join the group of golf professionals who are already there continues our tradition in the Golf Professional / Teacher category which is second to none. It’s all about the game and all about Texas golf.”

    Robin Burke is the wife of TGHoF member Jack Burke, Jr., one of the founders of Champions Golf Club in Houston where he still teaches. She will be honored in the Amateur category. They will become the first husband and wife in the Texas Golf Hall of Fame.  Aside from her 2016 captaincy of the American Curtis Cup amateur team this summer in Ireland, she is one of the greatest female Texas amateur golfers herself. Burke is a two-time Texas women’s amateur champion and an eight-time Houston women’s amateur champion.  She reached the finals of the 1997 U.S. Women’s Amateur championship and made the semifinals of three U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur Championships. Her 38 U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur victories are tied for third most in American history.  She is also the two-time winner of the Southern Amateur Championship and is still active at Champions Golf Club with her husband, a former Masters and PGA Championship winner.

    A Houston native, Finger, who passed away in 2003 will be honored in the Lifetime Achievement category. He spent 45 years as an architect designing courses all over the world, and his widow Julia said he would be so very pleased to be included among the great Texas architects.  “He started playing golf in Texas at a very early age and played until he was a very old man here. The Texas courses and the ones he did elsewhere meant so much to him.”  Finger teamed with fellow TGHoF member Byron Nelson to design the Riverhill Golf Club in Kerrville in 1998 near where he lived and also did a total renovation of Scott Schreiner Golf Club in Kerrville for his final project.

    McCallister, a Fort Stockton native, attended the University of Houston on a golf scholarship where he roomed with Masters Champion Fred Couples and CBS Golf announcer Jim Nantz. Honored in the Professional Player category, he went on to win five PGA TOUR events highlighted by the 1991 HEB Texas Open. He also won the Hardee’s Golf Classic, the Honda Tournament in Florida, Bank of Boston Classic and the B.C. Open. He now plays on the Champions Tour.  “Growing up in a small town in West Texas, you couldn’t ask for a bigger honor. It’s very overwhelming, honestly,” he said.

    Memorial Park Golf Course in Houston was opened during the depths of the Great Depression, 1936, but has endured and been improved over the years as a shining symbol of great public golf in Texas’ largest city. It was designed by John Bredemus, known as the Father of Texas Golf, for his work statewide and over the decades has been played by the greats of the game, both in Texas and nationally.  It’s hosted the PGA TOUR’s Houston Open along with the 2008 NCAA Division II National Championship. In 1995, the course received a restoration with input from Houston architect Jay Riviere and Hall of Fame member Dave Marr, Jr. as the result of an extensive fundraising campaign. It remains one of the most popular public courses in Houston with more than 65,000 rounds a year at the layout located in the central city area.

For more information on the 2016 induction banquet, October 10, and ceremonies along with sponsorships, contact Mary Carriker, Managing Director of the TGHoF at or 210-736-8701.