About The Texas Golf Hall of Fame

Conceived by course designer Jack Miller and Houston sportswriter, Jack Agness, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame was founded in 1978 at The Texas National Golf Club located outside of Willis, Texas.

Our History

The first class of Inductees was comprised of eight of the greatest names in golf, including Jimmy Demaret, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Babe Zaharias and Lee Trevino. Other early honorees included Ben Crenshaw, Tom Kite, Joe Black, Betsy Rawls, Tod Menefee, Bruce Crampton and Kathy Whitworth.

In 1988, the Woodlands Corporation bought the rights to the Hall of Fame and carried on the torch. In 1992, The Houston Golf Association took over operations and continued the inductions until 1996, when it inducted Tommy Aycock and Tommy Bolt. During that time 77 golfers were inducted and the Brackenridge Park Golf Course in San Antonio was inaugurated. Ms. Frances Trimble was executive director and curator of the hall of Fame throughout. In 1997, after relocating the Shell Houston Open to the Redstone Country Club, the Houston Golf Association mothballed the Hall of Fame. The original Texas Golf Hall of Fame was dissolved in 2001.

In 2008, as part of the restoration of the historic Brackenridge Park Golf Course, designed by famed golf course architect A.W. Tillinghast, Texas Golf Hall of Fame member and former President of the PGA of America, Joe Black, contacted San Antonio golf officials about reconstituting the Hall of Fame at Brackenridge Park, the birthplace of public golf in Texas. To help the new Hall of Fame endure, Black recommended that it should be governed by a board of directors comprised of multiple major golf organizations of the state of Texas.

The Texas Golf Hall of Fame is now a reality both online and at the Brackenridge Park Golf Course. Mr. Black is the Honorary Chairman.

Mission Statement

The mission of The Texas Golf Hall of Fame is to celebrate the rich and diverse history of golf in the great State of Texas by honoring its golfers, golf personalities and supporters, golf courses and golf events for the education and awareness of the citizens of Texas and other people of diverse ethnic, geographic and economic backgrounds.  The Texas Golf Hall of Fame will always endeavor to serve the citizens of Texas.

Board of Directors

Buddy Cook, PGA
Past Chairman
Texas Golf Hall of Fame - Class of 2017

Joe Black, PGA
Chairman Emeritus
Texas Golf Hall of Fame - Class of 1978

Jerry D. Smith, PGA
Past Chairman
Texas Golf Hall of Fame

Rob Addington
Anera Sports

Stuart Bernstein
CapRidge Partners

Robin Burke
Champions Golf Club
Texas Golf Hall of Fame - Class of 2016

Mark Dewall, PGA
General Manager
The Clubs of Cordillera Ranch

William B. Cavender, Jr. (Billy)
Cavender Auto Group

Mark Harrison  Executive Director / CEO  Northern Texas PGA

Mark Harrison
Executive Director / CEO
Northern Texas PGA

Thomas Hutton, PGA
Executive Director
Southern Texas PGA

Alli Jarrett
President & CEO
Harold’s Restauarant & Tap Room

David Marr III

Tony Martinez, PGA

Randy Mayo
Mid-Continent Coca-Cola Bottling Group

Pat McMahan
Alamo Insurance Group

Reid E. Meyers

Andrew Peterson, PGA
Municipal Golf Association San Antonio

David Price, PGA
Bent Tree Country Club
Texas Golf Hall of Fame - Class of 2012

Loren Singletary
Vice President, Investor and Industry Relations
National Oilwell Varco