Contact:   Loren B. Singletary, Board Chair – 713.346.7807

               Andrew Peterson, Managing Director - 210.908.5913

Texas Golf Hall of Fame announces major changes; Nominations open March 1.

The Municipal Golf Association – San Antonio (MGASA) has taken over management of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame from Golf San Antonio (GSA). The change allows Golf San Antonio to devote more time and resources in operations of local amateur golf tournaments and its nationally recognized First Tee program.

The MGASA, besides operating the eight City of San Antonio owned golf courses will further develop the Hall of Fame’s stature and statewide importance in honoring Texas Golf Legends. “We thought it would be a natural fit to have the MGASA help steer us forward,” mentioned Hall of Fame Chairman, Loren Singletary of Houston. “They have all the resources, and their corporate office is at Brackenridge Park Golf Course, home to the Hall of Fame.”

Additionally, three new board members to the Texas Golf Hall of Fame were announced.

Pat McMahan, an insurance executive from San Antonio, takes the place of Jim Roschek, the retiring CEO of the Municipal Golf Association – San Antonio. Randy Mayo, a San Antonio area businessman, takes the place of Bobby Dewar, whose two-year term expired last month. Marc DeWall, President of the South Texas PGA and General Manager at the Clubs of Cordillera Ranch in Boerne, Texas, takes the place of outgoing South Texas PGA President, Jeff Strong. 

“We’re really excited to have Pat, Randy and Marc on the board,” stated Singletary. “They have incredible passion for golf and will really enhance our organization.” Singletary furthered, “I would be remiss to mention that the outgoing board members have been instrumental in what we’ve accomplished so far. Their contributions are greatly appreciated, and we wouldn’t be in the position we are today without their leadership.”

Andrew Peterson, President and CEO of the Municipal Golf Association – San Antonio is replacing Janina Collins, Executive Director of Golf San Antonio, as the Managing Director of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame.

The nomination period for the 2019 Class of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame will open on March 1 via Nominees will be reviewed for eligibility and voted on by living Hall members, the Board of Directors and select Texas golf media. The final selection will be announced in July.

This year’s Golf Tournament and Induction ceremony will be held on Monday, October 14. The golf Tournament will be held at Brackenridge Park Golf Course and the induction ceremony will be held at the San Antonio Country Club. 

The Texas Golf Hall of Fame, the largest state golf Hall of Fame in the country, is located at the Brackenridge Park Golf Course clubhouse and the historic building adjacent to the clubhouse, the Borglum Studio. The Board is comprised of 15 state-wide directors - eight permanent, seven at-large.

For more information, please visit