Nominations Now Open for 2017 Texas Golf Hall of Fame, New Board Members Elected

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                 March 1, 2017

San Antonio, TX.                                                                                  

Contact:         Jerry D. Smith, Board Chair – 972.998.6770

                      Mary Carriker, Managing Director - 210.736.8701

The Texas Golf Hall of Fame Board of Directors is pleased to announce that nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Class of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame. All Texans and golf lovers are urged to nominate qualified individuals through and pursuant to the guidelines established on the Hall’s website at

The nomination period is open from March 1 to April 28, 2017. The nominees will then be reviewed for eligibility and voted on by the living Hall members, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame Board of Directors and select Texas golf media. The final selection will be announced in early July. Nominations are accepted only though the website.

Individuals or Texas courses can be nominated in one of five categories – Amateur Player, Professional Player, Golf Professional/Teacher, Lifetime Achievement and the Texas Registry of Historic Golf Courses.

On October 9, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame will induct its eighth class of inductees since reconstituting the Hall in 2009.  The Induction Dinner will take place at the historic San Antonio Country Club.  The 2017 Class of inductees will be commemorated on a new granite marker along the Texas Golf Walk of Fame at Brackenridge Park Golf Course.

Four At-Large positions were available on the Texas Golf Hall of Fame Board of Directors for 2017 and beyond. The Nomination Committee received approximately 20 names for consideration. In January, the Board voted unanimously and elected the following new At-Large Board Members: Marty Leonard of Fort Worth and 2011 Texas Golf Hall of Fame inductee; Robin Burke of Houston and 2016 Texas Golf Hall of Fame inductee; David Price of Dallas and 2012 Texas Golf Hall of Fame inductee and Stuart Bernstein of Austin.  Jeff Strong, the Honorary President of the STPGA was elected as one of two permanent positions on the Board from the Southern Texas PGA Section.   

           The Texas Golf Hall of Fame, the largest state golf Hall of Fame in the country, is located at the Brackenridge Park Golf Course clubhouse and the historic building adjacent to the clubhouse, the Borglum Studio.  The Board is comprised of fifteen state-wide directors, of which eight are Permanent and seven are At-Large. The TGHOF is a 501(c) (3) organization. More information is available at